I just read a book called “Toxic Fat: When Good Fat Turns Bad” by Barry Sears, Ph.D.

It’s interesting and he makes some good points. Don’t worry Barry doesn’t blame us for our size. Here’s a quote from the book:

Many of us have battled extra pounds, and it hasn’t been a particularly successful battle. People without weight problems seem to think the cause of obesity is simply sloth and gluttony. I believe the root cause is something far more insidious, which I liken to a cancer that threatens every organ in the body. And in many people, accumulation of excess body fat initially represents a biological defense response trying to protect our bodies from this potential “cancer.”

His main point is that if our country doesn’t start treating fat like a cancer then we’ll have massive problems in the future. (Actually I think the future is already here.)

Here’s another quote from Dr. Sears:

You can’t tell if people have Toxic Fat Syndrome just by looking at them. Only the blood will reveal it becaue the appearance of toxic fat in the bloodstream is the first sign you are no longer well and are headed more rapidly toward any one of many chronic conditions associated with Toxic Fat Syndrome.

He also has a diet in the book. I haven’t tried it yet because I’m on a diet from my nutritionist, but if you try it, please let me know by writing to: wandaseaman27@yahoo.com

 

